Timetabling

We were given our timetables earlier this week and I was horrified at how unfriendly mine looked. So I studied it and tried to customise the layout…

…into something that I could better understand:

So now I’m beginning to understand what my year looks like and what kind of workload I’m dealing with. I’ve got a section telling me when my breaks are between classes – to make it easier to plan trips and work timetable. I have the classes broken down in terms of sessions, of months, weeks, days and time. I’ve also color-coordinated the subjects I’m meant to be learning this year, and hopefully studying outside of class hours. I’ve also highlighted the week I’m meant to be ready for presentation. And lastly, I’ve included a box indicating what a regular week looks like and when I might be available – handy when planning family events or babysitting nights.

I’m very pleased with what I’ve done, even though it took far too long. It took me ages just to make sense of the original layout, complicated by the fact that a few first-year subjects are thrown in together with this year’s subjects. But now I can organise my water job roster and fit in when I can work on side projects.




    Leave a comment